What are Nakshatras?


What are the names of the 27 Nakshatras or star constellations?

The names of the 27 Nakshatras and it lords are: Ketu, Shukra, Surya, Chandra, Kuja, Rahu, Guru, Shani and Budha rules the first below set Ashwini, Bharani, Krittika, Rohini, Mrigasira, Arudra, Punarvasu, Pushyami, Ashlesha covering from Mesha till Karataka Rashi.

another set in same order Magha, Poorvaphalguni, Uttaraphalguni, Hasta, Chitra, Swati, Visakha, Anuradha, Jyestha covering from Simha till Vrishika Rashi.

and the last set in same order Moola, Poorvashadha, Uttarashadha, Shravana, Dhanistha, Shatabhistha, Poorvabhadra, Uttarabhadra and Revati from Dhanur till Meena Rashi.

The Vimshottari Dasha allocated to the above nakshatra lords are 7, 20, 6, 10, 7, 18, 16, 19, 17 solar years as per Surya Siddhanta.

Nakshatras are divided into 4 equal parts called Padas.

Every Pada is distributed to each house in a cyclic fashion, to create Navamsa chart.

Navamsa chart is a very important chart for delineating the karmic effects.

Each nakshatra lord gives a mental character to a person. Based on that the person s attitude can be gaged.

This helps in Matrimony matching or marriage and love matching for conjugal happiness.

Nakshatras also help in conducting good auspicious ceremonies. These are enumerated in Hindu Calendar or Panchang.